top of page

Stirring & Shaking

I've been talking to several people about how crazy the Halloween season is here, which has lead to me tell people how crazy Germany is in general. Since moving to Berlin Several people have asked me "why Europe?". Sometimes, when we think of missions, we think of the impoverished places or the war torn nations; I would argue that western Europe is one of the most spiritually impoverished and war torn regions in the world. Germany, Berlin specifically, might be one of the most spiritually impoverished cities of them all.

In the center of Berlin the Pergamum Altar is housed. The Altar was built in the Middle East in the center of the city of Pergamum, also known as "the city where satan dwells". When Hitler came to power, the altar was used as inspiration for his grandstand that he would give speeches at. Now this altar sits in a museum in the center of Berlin- over 1 million people visit it each year. Fifteen minutes from my apartment you can find the Tempelhof airport. The building itself was built the Nazi party, and in front if it one of the very first concentration camps was created. this camp was designed as an experiment camp, and Nazi officers who trained here were generally reassigned to larger concentrations- the most "talented" officers were sent to Auschwitz .

Portions of the Berlin wall still stand. in between the remnants you can still see what was called the "death strip". over 130 people died on this strip while trying to flee communist East Germany.

These are just three examples of the atmosphere here, but the fact is this: For the past 80 years despair, hopelessness, and isolation and division have repeatedly spoken over Berlin and the roots of these words have sunk deep in to the city. People have accepted the heaviness that dwells here and learned to cope with it; it always has been and it always will be. But Jesus speaks a better word. In the midst of the heaviness, He's revealing himself to refugees arriving in Berlin. Muslims are encountering Jesus and being baptized, evangelizing in parks and being healed, and declaring that they want to be pastors who work for the Lord. This is such a sweet picture of God's grace: the testimony of one redeemed people group is meant to bring revival to another.

The Kingdom of Heaven is so inclusive because of Jesus.

There is a spirit of hope that is making itself known in this city. It's radical and it's completely disregarding anything that has happened in the past.

For myself, and the family I live with, every morning requires three hours of prayer for us to make it through the rest of our day. Every ounce of authority, joy, and peace that the Lord has for me has to be stirred up when my eyes open in the morning, knowing that I'll have to stir up the same thing the next morning... and the next... and the next... and the next. These things are not stirred up for my own benefit or gain, but stirred up so that I can intercede for the people around me today. Hope is stirred up in me so that I can walk above the heaviness over this city, and walk in the promises of the Lord fully. It's stirred up so that I can walk in freedom, so that I can walk in life abundantly as a testimony of the redemption of Christ.

It's a fight that I'm overjoyed to fight today; it's a fight that brings peace to those around me, and revival to the city I dwell in. And because I didn't lose today, I'm confident that I won't lose tomorrow, or the next day, or the next. I am grateful that I get to live in a city whose inheritance is joy, unity, and unending grace. I'm even more grateful for the freedom that is coming quickly!

If you think of our team here in Berlin, pray for us. We would love prayer for protection, provision, and favor in the refugee communities here.

bottom of page